Snippets About Sarah

Musical theatre geek. Dog rescuer. Academy Awards buff. San Antonio native. Spicy food consumer. Idealist. Liberal. Presbyterian. These are just a few of the many words that I could use to describe myself, Sarah Munroe. I am also an INFJ— a “protector.” This is the rarest Myers Briggs personality type, and the one most often used to describe Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr., Jesus Christ and Albus Dumbledore. Introverts like me are often misunderstood, but there is much more to us than meets the eye. We are thoughtful, creative, sensitive, and extremely perceptive.

One of my favorite roles that I have played... Belle in Beauty and the Beast!

One of my favorite roles that I have played: Belle in Beauty and the Beast!

My passion in life is musical theatre. I have been singing and acting since early childhood in various local, church, and school choirs and theatres. There is nothing more satisfying to me than expressing myself through performance! While I have always wanted to be a professional musical theatre actress, I have not always believed that it is possible. No one in my family has ever pursued a career in the arts, and my parents convinced me that it would be wise to seek a backup option. One of the reasons I chose Trinity University is because I knew that this would be a fantastic place to receive a well-rounded education, and to double-major so that I have a second degree under my belt in addition to theatre.

For my second major, I considered everything under the sun: music education, psychology, business, and marketing. While I liked aspects of marketing, I soon realized that it was too technical for me, so I asked my advisor if she knew of a similar, yet more creative and humanities-based major. She suggested communications, so I took mass media. In this class, I found it fascinating how often people are surrounded by media in their everyday lives, and I enjoyed discussing these various types of media in detail. I have decided that my plan is to double major in communications and theatre, graduate, become an actress, and then pursue advertising as a backup, between-gigs, or later-in-life career. In short, I am taking media interpretation and criticism for my communication major.

One thing that many people don’t know about me is that I plan on studying abroad next year! I have applied to three theatre conservatory schools in London, and hopefully I will spend the summer afterwards backpacking around Western Europe. I love traveling and exploring different cultures!

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

