BURT 1300 – Introduction to Becca

Hi! My name is Becca Burt, and I’m a sophomore here at Trinity. I’m really involved on campus; I am an active member of Alpha Phi Omega, Mu Phi Epsilon, Trinity Distinguished Representatives, Prowlers Dance Team, Choir, United Methodist Student Movement, and O Team. I’m the kind of person that functions best when I have a lot on my plate. If there’s a lot going on, I have to stay on top of things! I’m planning on being a Communication and Psychology double major, and am hoping to complete a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I’m not entirely sure what I want to do after that, some days I want to go into advertising, some days I want to work in college admissions. There are also days I want to be a Disney princess at a theme park, but that’s far less likely.

I’m in this class first and foremost because it’s required for my major, but also because I’m excited to study areas of media like video games and comic books, which aren’t usually as frequently covered.

One of thousands of photos of my extremely photogenic dachshund.

One of thousands of photos of my extremely photogenic dachshund.

A little more about my life thus far: I grew up in Austin, Texas with my mom, dad, two younger brothers, and miniature dachshund Shorty. Shorty is my first pet, and we think he’s about 6 now. (We aren’t entirely sure because he’s a rescue.) I love Shorty more than anything in this world, but a close second is my love of performance. I’ve always loved performing, I started dancing at age 5 and have studied ballet, pointe, tap, jazz, lyrical, hip hop, broadway, drill/kick, and will be trying my hand at ballroom this semester at Trinity! I joined my first choir at age 8, and have been addicted ever since. I did 3 musicals in high school, combining my love of dancing and singing.

I think one thing people don’t know about me is that I’ve been on mission trips with my church every summer since 2006. This past summer I was in Guatemala for a week, which was my first time out of the country. People in the region we were in still cook over open fires, which causes health problems later in life. We partnered with the Highland Support Project and Asociation de Mujeres del Altiplano and built over 40 stoves for the community of Chuicavioc. This was my 9th mission trip, and I’m hoping to go to Chicago with my church next summer.

To wrap things up, a couple assorted passions: Trinity, Instagram, cupcake baking, penguins, photography, singing in the car, glitter, and macaroni and cheese. If I had to put my life in one big picture statement, it would be that I love people. I love being involved, I love being social, I love studying how people think and why they live they way they do, and I love helping people in need. I’m excited for what this semester will bring!

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

