Joisy Girl Journal

Hi, my name is Sarah Friedlander. I am a sophomore studying sociology and planning on going onto the MAT program here at Trinity for elementary education. I am from Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, a little suburban town about 20 miles west of New York City. I have two younger brothers, one who just started his freshman year at Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, CA and the other who is a junior in high school. My dog is a 10 year old golden retriever named Austin.

When people find out I am from Jersey, their natural response is, “how did you find Trinity?” The answer is not too exciting. When I was a sophomore in high school, my dad was down here and business and I flew down to meet him and visit a friend from camp. While we were driving around, we stumbled onto Trinity’s campus. We got out of the rental car and walked around for a while. It was Texas, in July, and it was unbearably hot. But I knew that this was the right school for me. The perfect size, friendly Texas culture, and providing the programs I wanted, in a short year, Trinity has become my new home.

How did I end up in this class? The real answer in common curriculum. Everyone talked about Dr. Delwiche as being an entertaining and informative professor so I figured it was worth a shot. After taking my first year seminar last year I realized that I may be interested in Communications as a minor or even major so I am also taking this class as a preview of the department to see if I would be interested in specializing in it.

Image

My family and me snorkeling on The Great Barrier Reef in Australia

Something interesting about me is that I love to travel. I have been to Japan, Mexico, Australia, London, Paris, Anguilla, and Coasta Rica. I plan on studying abroad next year as well. During Christmas break, my family and I will be spending two weeks on safaris in Southern Africa. Being far away from home does not bother me because I love learning about new cultures and being exposed to people from all different backgrounds. People in Texas think that I have an accent but I think they are wrong.

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

