Coming to you straight from LA.

“Please allow me to re-introduce myself” my name is Leyv… Aspiring artist, I knew at a young age I would be a star. I mean, I grew up near Hollywood so why would I be something other than a star. To become a star, you have to make a name for yourself, exactly what I did early on in my life. I started rapping at the age of 5, then transitioned into the reggaeton game at the age of 10. It’s been nothing but success since. Im just joking, I’m no star or soon to be Don Omar, I’m just Andres Leyva. I was Born and raised in the City of Champions, LA. I live and bleed sports. More specifically, I bleed Yankee blue and Laker Gold. But wait, how does a kid growing up in LA become a Yankees Fan? Derek Jeter and Mariano Rivera, the two classiest men in sports, thats how. It was because of them that I began to play baseball. I’ve been doing that since the age of 5 and don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. Growing up in LA has been a crazy experience. I have seen almost everything imaginable. From the crime that burdens the streets to celebrities enjoying some time at the movies, LA has it all. My high school was no different. I attended Crossroads School in Santa Monica, and let me tell you, I had the best experiences of my life there. Met some very famous people, attended events I never thought I would be at, got to see Miley Cyrus take a tour of our school (proud to say she wasn’t admitted), it was just all unreal for a 14 year old. 

Image

Horse back riding in Mexico.

A lot of people have asked me throughout my college career why I chose to come to Trinity and I still don’t have a clear answer. To be honest, I only applied here because it was on the Common App. I was set on staying in California and either attending Occidental College or Redlands University. I don’t know what got into me but I decided to leave my offers to play at these school and came to Trinity with no guarantee of being on the team, simply because, well I still don’t know but I’m enjoying every moment here. I’m a Junior here at Trinity and I am majoring in Marketing and minoring in Sport Management. I am taking this class because it fulfills one of my common curriculum courses.

Something people might not know about me is that I am the mailman. Just kidding, everyone who has been to the mail center knows that. On a more serious note, a hidden fact about me was that I was actually a small little star at my high school and surrounding neighborhood. I constantly appeared on the cover of the Santa Monica Daily Press for baseball, except my freshman year, I sucked pretty bad that year. Luckily things made a turn for the better and here I am today.

I look forward to learning more about conspiracy theories. Last year during baseball season I feel like that was all we would talk about during warm-ups and batting practice. It’s going to be great to actually learn about the different theories out there and whether they have reasonable evidence to support them. It’s going to be a great year.

Aside | This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

