“Through the Looking Glass” is much different now

It’s really been an interesting semester in this class…truly. I’ve enjoyed all of our classes and generally never found my mind wandering. But I’m sure everyone is guilty of that once or twice. These topics that we’ve covered dip in to some things that hold my interest outside of an academic setting, and I was really pleased to research around the topic in the way that we did. Every reading, viewing, or recap was really cooked into a soup of relatable material; each one boiling over into the next.

                The only reading that really didn’t fit the bill for me was the “Emo” article. It was an entertaining read, if not a little morose, but I don’t think my reading it enhanced my ability to interpret societal memes and what not. I see its relevance. Believe me. I do. I think it’s just an example of how ideas infect us, but it was probably bulldozed by a better example in class. So, what’s the point? Something I would have liked to be covered a little more in class is the Simulation Theory. It has some incredibly trippy subsets that are related to how we’re all being programmed.  I’m not a “screw the system” guy, but some of the stuff just makes you wonder. For instance, did you know that a respected scientist of Imagestring theory recently discovered computer code embedded in the “strings,” for lack of a better word? The fundamental building blocks of nature have inside them a code that is the same as the stuff that runs search browsers? Like I said, it’s trippy. It’s also kind of a fringey theory at this point, but it’s out there.

                Probably my favorite reading is McCloud and his ideas about closure. The idea is so useful and applicable to so many things. It’s useful relating to comics, movies, conversation, and tons of other everyday things. It is definitely something I’ll be bringing with to my other courses in the coming semesters. I’ve got a whole host of Comm. courses I’m taking. A lot of these ideas will stick with me because they were very interesting. I was just surprised to find them in a college course, but I’m glad I did. I’ll be here next semester and for my senior year. I had intended to go abroad, but I picked up a job that I enjoy too much. Honestly, I learn just as much bartending, the job, as I do from school, and it wouldn’t be responsible for me to just take off for a semester. You get to see just how real closure is when you put a glass of water in front of a drunk, he does the math, and figures he’s way too drunk for another shot.

                Last but not least, I’d do the heroes and villains. At first mention of it in the blog prompt, I though “Yes. That would be so cool.” Everyone has a personal connection with particular heroes and villains. It could make for some very rowdy classroom time. If someone was really that upset about not getting into their desired class, I assume they could transfer to the other section; assuming it’s not full. One or two students couldn’t hurt, but a whole heckle of them is asking too much. After a few classes, they won’t care. They’ll find something they connect with. Yeah. Definitely do heroes and villains.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

