It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas! But First…

With finals right around the corner and the mad dash to the holidays in full swing, it’s nice to take a moment to reflect on some highlights of the semester.

You can never go wrong with the crew of Serenity.

You can never go wrong with the crew of Serenity.

I think that circling back to conspiracies would be a fun way to end the semester. I feel like conspiracies are the mythology of our time, and I think it could be interesting to look at conspiracy theories out side of the U.S.

My favourite readings of the semester were, by far, both volumes of Saucer Country. I love finding new comic book worlds to immerse myself in and these volumes were no exception. I also enjoyed the fact that these readings were not only relevant to our class theme, but also relevant to the ideas found in other readings, such as McCloud. The only downside is that there are ONLY two volumes. I honestly don’t think that I had a “least favourite” reading. If I had to pick one, I’d say the Bernard Dick reading, only because it’s made watching movies so much harder, as I keep noticing things like strange cuts, extreme close-ups, and long shots and wondering what the director was trying to accomplish with such a choice. I definitely think that reading has helped me appreciate good film editing choices, however.

Next semester, I plan on finishing up the rest of my Comm major, along with my Theatre minor. I will also be interning at a wedding and event planning agency, as well as continuing my job as a tutor at The Learning Lab.

I think a fantasy/space opera split would be interesting, both in the dynamic that it would provide between classes and the possible points for discussion. I also just really love Firefly and Serenity and would love for more people to join the fandom. I don’t think that students would be upset if they ended up in one section versus the other. I think it might be interesting to unveil the theme after registration, so the students wouldn’t know which section they were signed up for. Also, since there will be two sections, it might be possible for there to be a mixed class every once in a while, with students from both sections in each section one day.

And now, back to studying fandoms. Happy finals everyone, and may the odds be ever in your favour.

This entry was posted in Blog #7. Looking forward. Looking back.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

