Comm 2302: Falling Down the Rabbit Hole

This class has not been what I expected, that is for sure. I don’t know exactly what I was expecting going in, but this class made me think in new and different ways. I think the most helpful aspect has been the focus on being aware of who the author is, and how to look at perspective in what we’re studying. The extra credit options were awesome. After finding one, I was hooked on finding more. It was also a good way to procrastinate on other work by justifying that looking for extra credit was a productive use of time. (Which it certainly was!) As far as class today, I’m hoping to wrap up postmodernism since we still haven’t exactly covered what it is.

While this class does have a lot of reading, it was okay because I really enjoyed reading most of the articles as well as “Understanding Comics” and “Saucer Country.” As far as favorite readings, I really enjoyed all of Chuck Klosterman’s articles, but I think my favorite is still “It Will Shock You How Much It Never Happened.” I love reading about millennials because no matter what side the author is arguing there are always some interesting opinions. Plus, I love the TV series Mad Men, so the references to the show were up my alley.

On the other end of the spectrum, I really did not care for “The Paranoid Style in American Politics” by Richard Hofstadter. For some reason, I found it really difficult to get through. I don’t know if that’s because I read it in the morning or just wasn’t picking up the same ideas the quiz was asking, but I read it twice and still got all those questions wrong on the reading quiz. However, the section on Illuminism and Masonry was interesting because I hadn’t read much about either group before, so the new information was good. Overall, the style of writing really did not click for me overall.

As far as looking forward goes, I’m in the process of figuring out my second major, so I’m taking a mix of psychology and business classes next semester. I’m also taking a couple of classes for my Women’s and Gender Studies minor, which I’m very excited about. I also just got elected APO’s Membership VP, so I’m going to have a busy semester ahead of me, but that’s the way I like it to be! As far as future plans, I’m hoping to study abroad in London this summer, and that’s about the farthest planning I’ve done.

I definitely like the Hero/Villain class idea, and I think there would probably be people that were bummed they were in one or the other at the beginning. I think as the semester went on, they’d get more excited about their own classes, so I don’t think it’s a make or break kind of deal. The bigger issue students seem to have is getting a time slot that works for them, so I think if they were having problems it would be more related to that. I also like the teenage identity theme, I think that would be really interesting.

Thanks for a great semester!

I got hooked on finding Rabbit Holes, to put it lightly.

I got hooked on finding Rabbit Holes, to put it lightly.

This entry was posted in Blog #7. Looking forward. Looking back.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

