These are not the conspiracies you are looking for

Our future, like Luke Skywalker's, cannot be seen with our eyes and lies beyond the horizon.

Our future, like Luke Skywalker’s, cannot be seen with our eyes and lies beyond the horizon.

This class is by far my favorite class of the semester. I enjoyed all of the conspiracy discussions and learning how ashamed I should be for my fellow Americans who actually believe reptiles run our country. I’m excited for the semester to end, as many of my classmates are as well. I won’t be happy to see the Media Interpretation class to be over since I won’t have any classes in the future that involve watching movies for class. If I could bring up any topics again from the class, I’d like to discuss genre theory again and discuss more about why viewers recognize particular features and tropes in genre films. The article about Star Wars by Andrew Gordon opened my eyes about the space opera genre, and I’d like to see how the sequels hold up to the theories presented here.

As for my favorite articles, I enjoyed reading the first two articles from Klosterman in September, mainly because it made compelling arguments about modern shows that I’ve watched. When we were only beginning to talk about conspiracy theory, I was still processing how media and lizard men have controlled information I received every day. These articles from Eating the Dinosaur made relatable connections to things I’ve seen before, so it was easy to get into discussions for that class. I did not enjoy the Blackmore reading on memes, however. I thought that the atheist overtones in the article were very distracting, even when I set aside my religious beliefs. It took some of the sense of neutrality away from the literature since I didn’t think that faith or the absence of faith was necessary in the discussion. Nevertheless, she made a compelling argument about the spread of memes and memeplexes in society that left an impression on me. I agreed that memes developed in a similar fashion to genes in evolution and were selected similarly.

After this class is over, I will complete my chemistry major with a couple of upper level courses and take some well-deserved elective classes like dance and music. My future is open-ended, but I am searching for lab-related work and volunteer opportunities for the following year so that I can gain some experience before graduate school. Future students would probably enjoy the superhero themed courses, especially with the new influx of Marvel movies in the wake of The Avengers. I would not separate it into heroes or villains sections since some may prefer to see both studied. However, I think a split between Marvel and DC comics would be an interesting spin in terms of rival companies, since both have roughly equal material to draw from for discussions.

Works Cited:

Susan Blackmore (1999). The Meme Machine. London: Oxford University Press.

This entry was posted in Blog #7. Looking forward. Looking back.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

